
Medicaid Estate Recovery Unit 
6300 Powers Ferry Rd. 
Suite 600-288 
Atlanta, GA 30339 
Tel: 770-916-0328 Fax: 678-569-0066 

 

Sonny Perdue, Governor Rhonda M. Medows, MD, Commissioner 

Date 
Name 
Street 
Street 2 
City, State, Zip 
 
Re:  Notice of the Georgia Medicaid Estate Recovery Program Implementation Date Change 
 
Dear Medicaid Member: 
 
The Georgia Department of Community Health recently mailed a notice to certain Medicaid members 
informing them that starting on May 1, 2006, we will implement a new Medicaid Estate Recovery 
Program. This letter will serve as a notice that, pending final Board approval, the May 1, 2006, date will 
change to May 3, 2006. Federal law which passed in 1993 requires all states to recover Medicaid monies 
paid for your medical care from your estate. Please review the following information carefully and 
contact the Medicaid Estate Recovery Office at 770-916-0328 if you have any questions regarding 
this matter. 
Estate Recovery applies to: 

 Medicaid members who, at any age, are an inpatient in a long term care facility, such as a nursing 
facility, an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or other medical institutions that have 
their medical care paid by Medicaid; and  

 Medicaid members who are 55 years of age or older and who receive nursing home services or home 
and community based services or are enrolled in and receive services through a waiver program  

Important Estate Recovery Facts: 
 Estate includes all real and personal property (i.e. homes, real estate, vehicles, cash and financial 

instruments) held individually or jointly with a spouse or other individuals. This also includes 
property held with a life estate interest. 

 If you have been a resident of an inpatient facility for at least six (6) consecutive months, the state 
may place a lien on your home if there is no reasonable expectation that you will return home. Certain 
exemptions apply that prevent the filing of a lien. You will be provided with a notice prior to the 
placement of any liens and shall have the opportunity to show that you are not permanently 
institutionalized or that you meet an exception that prohibits the placement of the lien. 

The state will not seek recovery if the total value of your estate is valued at less than $25,000. 
 Recovery may be delayed if a member has a surviving spouse, children under 21, or children who are 

blind or permanently and totally disabled.   
 There are circumstances which may constitute a hardship where the state would waive or delay 

recovery.  The hardships include circumstances wherein the asset to be recovered is an income 
producing farm of one or more of the heirs and the annual gross income is limited to $25,000 or less. 
Additionally, a hardship may exist if recovery of assets would result in the applicant becoming 
eligible for governmental assistance based on need and/or medical assistance programs. 

 In accordance with Governor Sonny Perdue’s mandate and upon final Board approval of the 
Department’s rules changing the May 3, 2006, recovery date, the state will only seek recovery of 
Medicaid monies that were paid for your medical care on and after May 3, 2006, rather than the 
previously proposed date of August 1, 2001, even if you were receiving Medicaid prior to this date. 

For more information, please visit our website at www.dch.georgia.gov or call the Medicaid Estate 
Recovery Office at 770 916-0328. 
 

Sincerely,  
GA Department of Community Health 

http://www.dch.georgia.gov/
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